Our Mythical Childhood...

The Reception of Classical Antiquity in Children’s and Young Adults’ Culture in Response to Regional and Global Challenges

Our Mythical Nature: People


Alessia Borriello

Alessia Borriello

Department of Classical Philology and Italian Studies, University of Bologna / Erasmus Programme

alessia.borriello2@studio.u...

Aesop’s Fables in T-Series Kids Hut on Youtube: Animal beyond Actant?

Krishni Burns

Krishni Burns

Department of Classics and Mediterranean Studies, University of Illinois Chicago

ksburns@uic.edu

Mythical Skyscapes: Constellation Myths in Educational Picture Books on Astronomy

Didymus T. Douanla

Didymus T. Douanla

Department of English ENS, University of Yaoundé 1

douanlatsangue@gmail.com

Mythic Consciousness and Ecological Redemption in “E.X.O. The Legend of Wale Williams” by Roye Okupe

Raimund Fichtel

Raimund Fichtel

Institute of Classical Philology, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

raimund.fichtel@klassphil.u...

The “Venus Grotto“ of Ludwig II. of Bavaria – The Childhood Dream of a Gentle Tiberius

Frances Foster

Frances Foster

Faculty of Education, University of Cambridge

fjf20@cam.ac.uk

Gods and Landscape in Megan Whalen Turner’s “The Thief”

Elizabeth	 Hale

Elizabeth Hale

School of Arts, University of New England

ehale@une.edu.au

Witi Ihimaera’s “Whale Rider” and the Ulysses of the Pacific

Markus Janka

Markus Janka

Institute of Classical Philology, Ludwig Maximilian University of Munich

markus.janka@klassphil.uni-...

“Mens antiqua manet” – “The Mind of Old Remains” (Ovid, “Metamorphoses” 2.485): Humanized Animals and Trees in Ovid’s “Metamorphoses” and Contemporary Children’s and Young Adults’ Literature

Christian  Laes

Christian Laes

School of Arts, Languages and Cultures, University of Manchester

christian.laes@uantwerpen.be

Dysfunctional and Pitied? Multiple Experiences of Being ‘a Disabled Child’ in Antiquity

Katarzyna Marciniak

Katarzyna Marciniak

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

kamar@al.uw.edu.pl

Geralt on Climate Strikes: Ancient Motifs and Ecology in Andrzej Sapkowski’s Cycle of the Witcher

Sheila Murnaghan

Sheila Murnaghan

Department of Classical Studies, University of Pennsylvania

smurnagh@sas.upenn.edu

The Secret Lives of Trees: Tales of Natural Transformation in Classical Myths for Children

Sonya Nevin

Sonya Nevin

Department of Humanities, University of Roehampton / Panoply Vase Animation Project

sonya.nevin@roehampton.ac.uk

Imagining Africa: Classical Antiquity in the Brontë Juvenilia / Create Your Own Ancient Vase Workshop

Elżbieta Olechowska

Elżbieta Olechowska

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

elzbieta.olechowska@gmail.com

Nothing Ancient Resonates with Children as Deeply as the Concept of an Animal Daemon

Beatrice Palmieri

Beatrice Palmieri

Department of Classical Philology and Italian Studies, University of Bologna / Erasmus Programme

beatrice.palmieri@studio.un...

Gianni Rodari and the Myth of Atalanta: The Role of Nature in Knowledge of Culture

Amanda Potter

Amanda Potter

Open University

amandapotter@caramanda.co.uk

Save the Monster, Save the World: Living in Harmony with Monsters in “Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind”, “Princess Mononoke”, and “Monstress”

Marta Pszczolińska

Marta Pszczolińska

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

Domestic Animals: Minimus the Mouse and Vibrissa the Cat as a Latin Learning Supporting Team in Minimus. Starting out in Latin Textbook

Babette Puetz

Babette Puetz

School of Languages and Cultures, Victoria University of Wellington

babette.puetz@vuw.ac.nz

The Eruption of Mount Vesuvius, AD 79, in Children's Literature

Miriam Riverlea

Miriam Riverlea

Faculty of Humanities, Arts, Social Sciences and Education, University of New England

mriverlea@gmail.com

Bushfire, Myths and Mallacoota

Deborah H. Roberts

Deborah H. Roberts

Department of Classics, Haverford College

droberts@haverford.edu

Natural Disaster, Social Change: Ancient Volcanic Eruptions in Historical Fiction for Children

Sonja Schreiner

Sonja Schreiner

Department of Classical Philology, Medieval and Neolatin Studies, University of Vienna

sonja.schreiner@univie.ac.at

Witty Education: Environment and Nature as Atmospheric Background in Friedrich Wilhelm Zachariä's (1726–1777) Mock Heroic Poetry

Michael  Stierstorfer

Michael Stierstorfer

Gymnasium Kloster Schäftlarn

michael.stierstorfer@web.de

Saving Invironment for Species Richness with Mythical Stories? The Myth of the Sirens, the Gorgon, the Minotaur and the Chimera in Julia Golding’s Series “The Companions Quartet” for Educating Children to Care for Nature

Robert A. Sucharski

Robert A. Sucharski

Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, University of Warsaw

sucharsk@al.uw.edu.pl

Halina Rudnicka and Her Ancient Trilogy or on the Nature of the True Hero(ine)s

Karoline Thaidigsmann

Karoline Thaidigsmann

Slavic Department, University of Heidelbeg

kthaidigsmann@gmx.net

From Questions of Cultural Identity to the Challenges of a Globalized World. Crosswriting in Polish Literature since 1989 (A Résumé About Crossover Literature as a Means of Communicating with an Adult Readership)

Katerina Volioti

Katerina Volioti

Department of Humanities, University of Roehampton

katerina.volioti@roehampton...

A Post-humanist Perspective: Plants, Animals, and Things in Children’s Books about the Classical Past