Pattern Pattern Pattern

Showing 4 entries for tag: Cadmus

Pattern Pattern Pattern

Maria Dynowska

From Greek Legends: „Metamorphoses” According to Ovid [Z podań greckich: “Przemiany” podług Owidjusza]

Based on: Katarzyna Marciniak, Elżbieta Olechowska, Joanna Kłos, Michał Kucharski (eds.), Polish Literature for Children & Young Adults Inspired by Classical Antiquity: A Catalogue, Faculty of “Artes Liberales”, Warsaw: University of Warsaw, 2013, 444 pp., online: book is an overview of Greek myths selected by the author from the first six books of Ovid’s Metamorphoses. It begins with the Four Ages of Man followed by the flood(...)


YEAR: 1911

COUNTRY: Congress Poland

Weng Chen (Jade), Carolyn Hennesy

Mythic Misadventures (Series, Book 1): Pandora Gets Jealous

This is the first instalment in a series of books called "Mythic Misadventures" that takes the classic story of Pandora's box and gives it a young, adventurous, partly contemporary twist - Pandora is Prometheus' thirteen-year-old daughter. In Pandora Gets Jealous, she brings the box Zeus had given her father to school for her annual school project. When she accidentally unleashes all the evils inside, she is tasked with recapturing them all before the entire world is ruine(...)


YEAR: 2008

COUNTRY: United States of America

Grzegorz Kasdepke

Myths for Children – Zeus & Co [Mity dla dzieci – Zeus & spółka]

The magical and amazing world of ancient gods and heroes shown in an accessible way in amusing and straightforward language. Each story focuses on a different god or hero. This is a collection of well-known myths adapted for children and told in a simple, funny and clear way. The stories are very interesting and present the most important mythological characters. The book includes original illustrations.The selection includes the myth of the origin of the world, Cronus’ golden age and(...)


YEAR: 2011


Nathaniel Hawthorne

Tanglewood Tales for Girls and Boys

Tanglewood Tales is the sequel to Hawthorne’s first volume of Greek myths for children, A Wonder Book for Girls and Boys. In the Introduction to this book, a precocious young storyteller Eustace Bright returns to Tanglewood Manor to visit Nathaniel Hawthorne, and they discuss the success of their recent publication, which, according to the fiction, Eustace composed and Hawthorne edited. Now Eustace presents his friend with a second collection of six stories. Although this volume does not f(...)


YEAR: 1853

COUNTRY: United States of America