Pattern Pattern Pattern

Showing 9 entries for tag: Griffins

Pattern Pattern Pattern

Cornelia Funke

Dragon Rider (Series, Book 2): A Griffin’s Feather [Drachenreiter: Die Feder eines Greifs]

Die Feder eines Greifs is the sequel to Drachenreiter / Dragon Rider (1997, Engl. transl. 2004). The main character of the novel is 14-year-old Ben who was also the protagonist of Dragon Rider. In the first book, he was rescued by the dragon Lung / Firedrake as an orphan in London and became his dragon rider. Now Ben has been adopted by the Wiesengrund / Greenbloom family and is living with them in Norway, where they run a sanctuary for mythical (and non-mythical) creatures, MÍMAMEID(...)


YEAR: 2016

COUNTRY: Germany

SIE Santa Monica Studio

God of War II

The story revolves around Kratos, a Spartan hero. The Olympian gods acknowledged his deeds presented in the first game of the series (see the entry for more info), and rewarded him with a seat on the Olympus. Since the day Kratos became the new god of war, he has been leading Sparta against other Greek poleis. The game begins with a cutscene that shows Kratos looking down on Rhodes, a new territory to claim. Athena disagrees with his methods, as he openly sides with one polis and that's why (...)


YEAR: 2007

COUNTRY: United States of America

Calef Brown, John Harris

Greece! Rome! Monsters!

Greece! Rome! Monsters! is an illustrated anthology of mythological creatures from the classical tradition. Organised alphabetically, it introduces young readers to twenty monsters, including well known characters like the Cyclops, Medusa, and the Minotaur, alongside more obscure figures such as the Basilisk and Manticore. In addition to the fearsome beasts are more pleasant equine creatures, the Hippocamp, Pegasus and the Unicorn. Curiously the Hydra does not feature, but the collection does in(...)


YEAR: 2002

COUNTRY: United States of America

David Pike

Greek Mythology Stories for Kids (Series, Book 2): Mythical Creatures of Greek Myths

The book offers three stories that involve mythological animals: Pegasus and the disappearance of Calliope; The Griffin and the Athenian princess of Ilissus (Orithyia) and Chiron and Heracles' poisoned arrow. At the end of each story, there is a shorter explanation of the mythical creature (Pegasus, Griffin, Centaurs): their origin, way of life, related myth and some examples of reception (for example, it is noted that the Griffin is mentioned in Percy Jackson and Harry Potter series).The fi(...)


YEAR: 2018

COUNTRY: United States of America

Voglio Una Mela Blu (V1MB) , Sybille Tezzele Kramer

Mischiamiti (Series)

“Mischiamiti” (series):“Mischiamiti. Il libro-gioco mitologico” (book-game), “Raccolta di filastrocche” per “Mischiamiti - il libro-gioco mitologico” (collection of nursery rhymes), “Le carte dei Mostri Mitologici” dal progetto a tema mitologico “Mischiamiti” (mythological monsters cards).“Mischiamiti” series contains interactive printing materials (such as “mix and match” game and cards) an(...)


YEAR: 2016


George O'Connor

Olympians (Series)

Olympians is a series of graphic novels that takes one deity per volume as the focus, retelling numerous myths related to that god.Volume 1. Zeus. King of the Gods. Featuring creation myths and the war between the Titans and Olympians. Narrator unspecified.Volume 2. Athena. Grey-Eyed Goddess. Featuring the myth of Athena's conception and birth; Pallas; the attack of the Giants; Medusa and Perseus; Arachne. Narrated by the Moirae (The Fates). Volume 3. Hera. The Goddess and her Glory. Fe(...)


YEAR: 2010

COUNTRY: United States of America

Ahn Do , Chris Wahl

Rise of the Mythix (Series, Book 1): Golden Unicorn

Billionaire William James is the ‘Soul Collector,’ enabled by ‘Lucifer’s Ring,’ to capture the souls of unusual or interesting people and frame them in his art collection. He also collects rare mythological artefacts, such as the Holy Grail, which his resident archaeologist, Stanley Solomon, finds for him. Stanley is trapped in his employ, because the Soul Collector has captured his wife.But when he finds a rare manuscript, he reads in it the prophecies of a soothsa(...)


YEAR: 2019

COUNTRY: Australia

Dave Filoni, George Lucas

Star Wars (Series, S01-S05): The Clone Wars

Star Wars: The Clone Wars is a 3D CGI animated television series set during the period between the Star Wars films Attack of the Clones (2002) and Revenge of the Sith (2005). The Star Wars stories are set in a distant galaxy which includes a great number of planets and which is inhabited by an enormous range of sentient, non-sentient, and robotic life-forms. A powerful energy known as "the Force" binds the galaxy together and can be channelled by "Force sensitive" living(...)


YEAR: 2008

COUNTRY: United States of America

Michael Ende , Roswitha Quadflieg

The Neverending Story [Die Unendliche Geschichte]

This novel tells the coming-of-age story of 11 year old Bastian Balthasar Bux, an introvert, timid, slightly overweight and un-sporty boy who is bullied at school. Bastian’s mother has died and his grieving father has lost any interest in him. When Bastian reads a mysterious book called Die Unendliche Geschichte (which he steals from a local book shop), he becomes so absorbed in the story that he is drawn into the parallel world of Phantásien (Fantastica). Fantastica is be(...)


COUNTRY: Germany